The state of Louisiana carries many laws on its books regarding weapons. These laws both define various types of weapons as well as the types of activities involving them prohibited by the state. While, as an adult, you can generally purchase and openly carry a gun in the state, you cannot carry a concealed gun without a state permit. Other laws bar certain individuals from possessing any type of firearm and bar firearms in certain locations. Anyone arrested for violating gun or weapon laws has the right to and should seek legal counsel. Many types of weapon charges carry serious criminal penalties that you will want to avoid if possible. That is where the benefit of having an experienced criminal defense lawyer can help significantly.
What Are the Common Types of Louisiana Weapon Charges?
- Intentionally concealing your firearm or any other dangerous weapon, such as knife, on your person or near you is unlawful in the state. You must have a permit to carry a concealed weapon. If you violate this law, you face up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $500. Subsequent convictions of this offense will lead to harsher sentences. Penalties will also increase if you used the wrongly concealed weapon in committing or attempting to commit another crime or if you were in possession of controlled dangerous drugs, such as heroin, cocaine, and others.
- Carrying a concealed weapon into certain locations (even if you have a permit) is also a crime. These locations include churches, schools, colleges, universities, or other learning facilities or at school functions such as sports events, plays, or graduations, as well as carrying one within 1,000 feet of a school. This law does not apply to policemen or those who have special permission to carry, such as school employees. Other exceptions may apply. Convictions for violations of this law can range from six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $500 to up to five years in a state prison.
- Bringing a gun into a bar or restaurant that serves alcohol. In any location where alcohol is served on the premises, you could be in violation of a weapons law that is punishable by up to six months in jail and/or a $500 fine. Exceptions apply in cases where you have a permit for a concealed weapon and the location is a restaurant.
- Carrying a concealed weapon into anyone else’s home without their consent. This applies even when you have a permit to carry a concealed weapon.
- Carrying a concealed weapon when you have been drinking or are under the influence of a controlled dangerous drug.
- Carrying a concealed weapon in a negligent manner that endangers the safety of others.
- Possessing a firearm within a 10-year period of a felony conviction or conviction of a domestic violence crime. This offense carries penalties of five up to 20 years in prison along with a fine. You will also face up to five years in prison if you sell or otherwise supply a felon with a firearm when they are under the 10-year ban.
- Committing a crime while using a firearm or other dangerous weapon. This is generally considered as an aggravating factor that can lead to harsher penalties. An example of this is assault with a deadly weapon that is a more serious crime than simple assault.
Turn to a Proven Defender in Baton Rouge
If you are facing any of the above common weapon charges or have been arrested and charged with any other violation of Louisiana weapon laws, we urge you to turn to The Ambeau Law Firm. Our firm serves individuals in and around the greater Baton Rouge area with experienced and dedicated criminal defense representation. We can evaluate your case to determine the optimum strategy for seeking the best possible result.
Contact us at (225) 230-1181 or online for a free case analysis today.