Baton Rouge Domestic Violence Lawyers
Defending the Accused in Gonzales, Livingston Parish, Ascension Parish & Beyond
Domestic violence or abuse accusations are incredibly serious. If convicted of domestic violence, you could face jail or prison time, steep fines, and lose your right to own a firearm or maintain child custody. Such charges can also have a seriously detrimental impact on your reputation and could affect your ability to keep your job, secure housing, or obtain a loan.
If you have been accused of domestic violence, don’t wait to reach out to a Baton Rouge domestic violence attorney with experience navigating these types of claims. At The Ambeau Law Firm, we have spent more than a decade representing clients accused of domestic violence and other types of violent crimes in Baton Rouge, Gonzales, Prairieville, Livingston Parish, Ascension Parish, and West Baton Rouge Parish. We are prepared to fight for you and your rights.
What Is Domestic Violence in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, domestic violence is defined as using force or threatening to use force against a family member or member of a shared household.
By law, a “family member” is defined as a:
- Foster parent
- Foster child
And, according to state law, a “household member” is a:
- Person of the opposite sex who either lives with the defendant or lived with the defendant in the past five years
- Any child (whether related to the defendant or not) who lives with or has lived with the defendant in the past five years
- The defendant’s child, regardless of the age of the child (whether a minor or not) and regardless of where the child lives
Penalties For Domestic Violence
The penalties for domestic violence in Louisiana are typically more severe than the penalties for other types of assault/battery. Notably, if convicted of felony or misdemeanor domestic abuse battery in Louisiana, you may not own or carry a gun for a period of 10 years after the completion of your sentence.
Additionally, the penalties are more severe when certain factors are present. These include cases involving strangulation or burning, resulting in “significant bodily injury,” when a child is present, and when the defendant knew the victim was pregnant. And, if you have prior convictions—even in other states—you will face harsher penalties.
How Bad is a Domestic Abuse Battery Charge?
In Louisiana, domestic abuse battery occurs when a household member intentionally uses violence or force against another household member. A conviction for domestic abuse battery is punishable by a $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail, and if strangulation was involved the prison sentence could be up to three years.
If you participate in a domestic violence prevention program and perform community service, part of your jail sentence may be suspended. However, if you are a repeat domestic abuse battery offender, you can face more severe penalties.
Get Aggressive Defense Today
We understand that domestic violence accusations are not always grounded in reality. Regardless of the specifics of your situation, our Baton Rouge domestic violence lawyers are committed to protecting your constitutional rights, including the right to be presumed innocent unless proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. We are prepared to do everything in our power to protect you and your future.
Straightforward, Honest Communication
Over a Decade Volunteered Services as a Public Defender
Over 40 Jury Trials Handled to Verdict
Qualified Expert in Forensic DNA Interpretation