Baton Rouge Assault and Battery Attorneys
Fighting Assault and Battery Charges Throughout Louisiana
Defense of a battery charge in Louisiana is charged in the following circumstances, and the statute is written below.
Battery and assault are different crimes. This is one of the fundamental misunderstandings in the non-attorney community, and honestly was something I misunderstood prior to law school. A battery is the act of touching, in a certain manner described by the separate laws related to battery in Louisiana. In order for there to be a battery, there has to be some contact between the accused and alleged victim. An Assault in Louisiana is simply causing an apprehension, or fear, of a battery. A person can be assaulted without a battery, and interestingly enough, a person can be battered without an assault – in the case that the person did not know the battery was going to happen and therefore had no chance to be in fear or apprehension of its occurrence.
The kinds of battery that are regularly charged are: (1) 14:34, Aggravated Battery; (2) 14:34.1, Second Degree Battery; (3) 14:34.2, Battery of a Police Officer; (4) 14:34.7, Aggravated Second Degree Battery; (5) 14:35, Simple Battery; (6) 14:35.2 Simple Battery of the Infirm; and (7) 14:35.3, Domestic Abuse Battery. There is a page for each of these individual crimes on my site for further specific information related to each.
If you, or someone you know, has been charged with any of the battery charges, hire a skilled assault and battery attorney immediately. Call The Ambeau Law Firm, and we will start the fight from the first day, and work diligently to get you the best outcome possible in your criminal defense matter.
If you are facing charges for assault or battery in Louisiana, don't face your charges alone. Contact our Baton Rouge assault and battery attorney about your case today.
La. R. S. 14:33. Battery Defined
Battery is the intentional use of force or violence upon the person of another; or the intentional administration of a poison or other noxious liquid or substance to another.
Penalties for Felony Assault in Louisiana
Under Louisiana law, La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § § 14:37.6, 14:38.2, 14:38.1, you can be charged with a felony for the following aggravated assaults:
Assault on a school employee who is performing his duties and the offender
is not a student
- Punishable by: One to three years in prison with or without hard labor or both, or a $2,000 fine
Assault with a motor vehicle that is against a peace officer who is performing
- Punishable by: One to Ten years in prison with or without hard labor or both, or $1,000 fine
Assault that involves adding a poisonous or harmful substance to drink,
medicine or food with the intent to hurt someone
- Punishable by: Two years in prison with or without hard labor or both, or $1,000 fine
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. The Legislature of the State of Louisiana may have more current or accurate information. The Ambeau Law Firm makes no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy or completeness of the information contained on this page – please consult your Baton Rouge assault and battery lawyer and/or check official sources.
Facing charges for assault or battery? Get the defense you deserve by contacting our Baton Rouge assault and battery lawyer today!
Straightforward, Honest Communication
Over a Decade Volunteered Services as a Public Defender
Over 40 Jury Trials Handled to Verdict
Qualified Expert in Forensic DNA Interpretation